New California Residents
Effective January 1, 1998, any person who moves into California and who brings any
pistol, revolver, or other firearm capable of being concealed upon the person is
considered to be a "Personal Handgun Importer" and is required to do one of the
following within 60 days:
- Complete and submit a Report of Handgun Ownership form along with $14.00 to
the Department of Justice. A separate report form and $14.00 fee is required for each
handgun reported. Report of Handgun Ownership forms can be obtained from California
Department of Motor Vehicles' offices, licensed firearms dealers, local police and sheriff's
departments, the California Department of Justice Firearms Division at (916) 263-4887, and
from the Online Forms Page at this site.
- Sell or transfer the handgun(s) to a California licensed firearms
dealer or to another individual using a California licensed firearms dealer to conduct the
- Sell or transfer the handgun(s) to a California police or sheriff's department.
Persons choosing this option should contact the law enforcement agency for instructions prior to transporting
the handgun(s) to the agency.
Any person transporting handguns in California is required under California law to transport those handguns
unloaded and in a locked container other than the glove compartment or utility compartment of a vehicle.
Please be aware that failure to comply with these mandated handgun
requirements could result in criminal prosecution (Penal Code Section 12072(g)).